Football World Cup 1970 » Winner – Teams – Statistics – History

There have been many World Cups to date, but there has never been one quite like the 1970 World Cup, a tournament that made history and that people still remember today.

The final match between Brazil and Italy has become a legendary one in sporting history, one that any football fan will tell you was something extraordinary to watch.

95 goals were scored in this World Cup, meaning an average of 3 per match, a yet to be beaten record.

Participating Teams of the 1970 World Cup Finals

There were a total of 16 participating teams in the 1970 World Cup, but those who reached the final stages were Brazil, Italy, England and Germany. The last three matches in the cup were Brazil v England where Brazil beat England 1-0 sending them straight to the World Cup final.

The semi-final to find out who Brazil would be playing against was Italy v Germany, a close match where Italy just managed to beat Germany with 4-3.

The Brazil v England match was a tense one, with Brazil eventually scoring the only goal. Legendary Brazilian footballer Jairzinho was the scorer, almost an hour into the game (59 minutes), and it was this goal that took Brazil to the final. between Germany and Italy, and was a close call. Italy managed to win in the end,

The semi-final to determine who would play against Brazil was held on 17 June 1970 thanks to the extra time that they were afforded, scoring the extra goal needed to defeat Germany. Italy’s four goals were scored by Tarcisio Burgnich, Gianni Rivera, Gigi Riva and Roberto Boninsegna. Germany´s three goals were scored by Karl-Heinz Schnellinger and Gerd Mueller, who scored twice.

In the final, which is remembered as one of the most historically important matches in the history of the FIFA World Cup, Brazil thrashed Italy, scoring 4-1. Using their flawless attack technique, Brazil wowed the crowds, getting in 4 goals while Italy managed to score just one.

Winner of the World Cup 1970

The big final of the World Cup 1970 took place on Sunday, 21 June in Mexico. The match was held at Estadio Azteca, one of the world’s most famous stadiums and one that has become iconic over the years.

The two teams in the final were Brazil and Italy, and the winners of the 1970 World Cup was Brazil, who defeated Italy with an impressive 4-1. This incredible defeat was quite something, especially against previous winners Italy who are considered one of the best football teams in the world. The four goals in this legendary match were scored by four different players, Pelé, Gérson, Jairzinho and Carlos Alberto.

The first goal was scored by Pelé just 18 minutes into the game, giving the team a strong start. From the first goal, they did not stop scoring, and Carlos Alberto managed to get his goal in just minutes before the game ended, at the 86th minute. Gérson and Jairzinho scored their goals just 4 minutes apart, at the 66th and 71st minute respectively.

The final match was attended by 107,412 in Mexico City and was watched by millions on TV. Brazil had already triumphed throughout the qualifying games, and their continued victories and record goal-scoring meant that they were hotly tipped to win the World Cup. They won all six of their qualifying matches, scoring a total of 23 goals in the tournament. They had previously won the cup two times, once in 1958, and the second in 1962, making it a third lucky strike.

Brazil Brazil
Italy Italy
21 June 1970

The Story of 1970 FIFA World Cup

Football World Cup 1970

The 1970 FIFA World Cup has become one of the most memorable in the history of football, with a series of incredible matches that are a real experience regardless of what team you are supporting or what country you are from. That is the spirit of the World Cup. While you want your country to win and come out on top, it is overall about appreciating good football, talented players and the art of the sport, and learning to simply be able to enjoy a good game, regardless of who is playing and who wins overall.

The 1970 Cup was held in Mexico, in the famous Estadio Azteca, the largest stadium in the country. The stadium had opened just 4 years before the World Cup took place, and since opening it has hosted two World Cup finals, the 1970 Brazil v Italy match and the Argentina v West Germany match in 1986. It is the first stadium in the world to have hosted two World Cup finals and has become iconic as a result of this.

The statistics for the 1970 World Cup are pretty staggering. In the 32 matches played throughout the tournament, 95 goals were scored between the 16 qualifying teams. The overall attendance in the stadium was 1,603,975, with millions more watching on television. This was the 9th World Cup to be held and the first to be held in North America. Until 1970, the World Cup had always been held in Europe or in South America.

Brazil’s big win is still remembered today as being one of the most iconic in history, and many still believe it to be the best, most flawless win in the World Cup. A team of perfectionists, Brazil did not let their fans or their country down, blazing their way through the qualifying games and the final alike and winning every single match. High profile player Jairzinho managed to score 10 goals just in the World Cup games, and the Brazil team 19 goals overall in the 6 matches that they played.

Hosted in Mexico, many teams suffered while playing with the high temperatures and humidity, especially those from European countries that are used to lower temperatures. The World Cup took place from May to June, some of the hottest months in Mexico, but despite this drawback, the goals per average game achieved in the 1970 World Cup have still yet to be beaten, setting records in the world of football.

As well as being arguably the strongest World Cup in history to date, the 1970 games were seen by record numbers of people as, for the first them, thanks to developments in technology, they were broadcast on TV all around the world. Not only could people enjoy the games from the comfort of their home or local pub, but there was something else. For the first time, they were broadcast in colour.